Skip to content

Thesis on the Net

March 15, 2009
tags: ,

At the end of May 2009, I must complete a thesis to receive my MFA from DePaul University.

When contemplating what my thesis would be about, I was drawn to how theaters in the United States are coping with the death of traditional media, mostly in the form of print, and the explosion of  online content and social networking communities.

Will social networking take the place of newspapers and advertising? Will the traditional position of marketing directors in theaters even exist in a few years or will they be replaced by something new? Finally, will theaters want to change direction, or will they fight changes that may need to be made?

It only seemed to make sense then that to explore this subject fully, I should embrace it.

So here you have my thesis blog. Not a blog about how my thesis is going, or how I feel about it – this will be the thesis itself. I will post research and also reach out to members of the theater and media communities, in hopes that they will take part by commenting on the work I am doing, and in the spirit of online communities help create the thesis with me.

That’s the idea. Now to get started.

– Chris

One Comment leave one →
  1. dmmzona permalink
    April 11, 2009 11:58 pm

    I’m in. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

